The World According to Keitho

Just another WordPress.com weblog

The hype, it burns!

Posted by keithosaunders on June 8, 2010

You know I actually feel a little sorry for Stephen Strasburg.  He’s got to live up to hype of Superbowlian proportion. Imagine if he allows three runs in the first inning — the media will be calling for his head.  I would be surprised if ESPN, which if I’m not mistaken has a three-hour pregame show, has not come up with Academy Awards style music to lead in and out of the commercials.

At any rate, once this all dies down, between Strasburg, yesterday’s #1 draft pick Bryce Harper, and a few good trades, the Nats should be a good team for the foreseeable future.

3 Responses to “The hype, it burns!”

  1. bkivey said

    Strasburg’s line Tuesday: 7IP 4H 2R 2ER 0BB 14K

    It’s a start.

    • What an incredible performance. It was on one of the TVs where I was gigging last night but I didn’t get to see that much — just a few pitches. I could tell he was doing well but I had no idea he had so many strikeouts I glanced up at ESPN at this bar that I was hanging out at afterwards. Luckily the Mets have already finished half of their games against Washington.

      • bkivey said

        I’m not sure which was more impressive, the 14K or the 0BB. Makes me glad that he’s in the National League.

        One of the local sports shows qualified for Most Insipid Question of the Year when they asked viewers to text where they thought Strasburg’s career would end up. Excuse me? He just made his inaugural Major League appearance mere hours before. The sheer inanity of that question might be worth an entire post.

Leave a Reply

 
