The World According to Keitho

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Road trip!

Posted by keithosaunders on July 1, 2010

Next month my family and I will be driving cross-country to our new home in the Bay Area.  We’re going through the most stressful period now as we still do not have a tenant for our New York apartment.  Besides finding a tenant the most pressing issue is planning our road trip.  We’ve got to get across with two adults, two kids, and a Labrador. 

Today I walked into my local AAA with the hopes that an agent could plan a more interesting route than simply driving west on I 80.  Here’s how it went.

I asked if AAA would be able to come up with a trip-tik from New York to San Francisco.

 “Sure, you just take I 80 the entire trip.” 

I asked if there were any points of interest along the way and he said,

 “Well there’s the Rock n Roll Hall of Fame in Cleveland, and an amusement park a little bit west of there –besides that, there’s nothing until Utah”  

I asked him what about Chicago and he replied, “Oh yeah.”  
 

An acquaintance mentioned to me that there is google software, possibly tied in with google maps,  that will chart a trip that is interesting and tailored to your wants and needs.  I understand that the software will also let you know where good restaurants are, as opposed to fast food joints and chain outlets.  Has anyone ever heard of this, and if so where can I find it?

Is it quixotic, at this stage, to opt for state roads over interstates?  We’re not going to be in a great hurry to get across and would prefer to see beauty over the corporate drudgery of the interstate system. 

How about driving with a U-Haul?  Have you had good or bad experiences with this?  Is it dangerous when it comes to crossing the Rockie Mountains while towing a U-Haul van?

All information will be greatly appreciated.

One Response to “Road trip!”

  1. planetofbob said

    Hey Keith, Drove a U-Haul from California to Iowa in ’08 towing a car, and it wasn’t nearly as bad as I thought it would be. And hey, I-80 takes you right through Des Moines, which as you know is known as the “Paris of Iowa”. Let me know when you’re coming through and I’ll buy you a cup of coffee.

    Enjoy San Francisco. I think your first winter will show you you made the right move.

Leave a Reply

 
