The World According to Keitho

Just another WordPress.com weblog

The eagle has landed

Posted by keithosaunders on August 19, 2010

After 3,653 miles, 10 states, 2 countries, and countless fillerups, we have at last alit on Key Route blvd in Albany, California. We are very happy to be reunited with our son Jake, who is sporting a new hair style and now has a pierced ear – a new look for a new town.

Our new house is charming and spacious, and unfortunately lacking any furniture at all, save for two queen-sized air mattresses which were purchased today at Target. The movers say that they will call us the day before they deliver our furniture. Using this formula I have deduced that the soonest they will arrive will be Friday. We are faced with the very real possibility of not having furniture until Monday. That’s a lot of meals out. Where’s an automat when you need one?

2 Responses to “The eagle has landed”

  1. tomschronicles said

    It’s interesting reading your posts of driving cross country for your move. East to West. I went the other way as a kid when my family moved from California to Chicago back in the ’80’s. I’m glad you took the Northern route. I bet it is more interesting than much of the country that I saw. Most of Nevada, Utah, Nebraska, Iowa (CORN! EVERYWHERE!!) not so great to drive through. At least we passed through the southern part of Wyoming, and reached Cheyenne late at night in a lightning storm, in which I saw no clouds, and there was no precipitation. Now THAT was interesting. Other than that, not an exciting drive until we crossed the Mississippi. I think your Northern route travel headed west must have been more picturesque.

    • You’re right – the northern route was spectacular. I loved everything west of the Mississippi…even Nevada! It sounds like you drove on route 80 which I have done bits and pieces of.

      Years ago I drove cross country with my girlfriend (who is now my wife) and we drove on I 70. I remember lovingKansas – the rolling hills in the eastern half and the utter flatness of the western half.

      On the northern route you don’t get the full appreciation of the starkness of the great plains.

Leave a Reply

 
