The World According to Keitho

Just another WordPress.com weblog

I’m on bizarro Earth watching Giants games

Posted by keithosaunders on September 5, 2010

Not the football Giants, but baseball’s Giants, the team I grew up hating.  How strange it is to turn on my local TV and see the orange and black of San Francisco playing at 7 PM.  Living in New York for the past two and a half decades, I was used to seeing their games begin at 10:00 PM.  With this damn Pacific time zone all of the sports is done before the network news, which is fine if you like to go to sleep early, but not so fine if you’re used to keeping late hours.

Yesterday’s game, versus my old Dodgers, was a honey.  The Dodgers leaped out to a 4-0 lead and it looked as if the punchless Giants would go down easily.  The tide began to turn in the middle innings when solo home runs by Buster Posey, Edgar Rentaria, and Pat Burrell (I hate him, that Met killer!) brought them to within a run. 

In the 9th inning Joe Torre brought in his fireballing closer, Johnathon Broxton, who proceeded to throw 12 straight 96mph-plus fastballs.  There was one on and two out when Juan Uribe stepped to the plate and hit a hanging slider deep into the left field bleachers.  5-4 Giants. 

In the bottom of the inning the Giants closer, Brian Wilson, allowed a pair of singles to put runners on 1st and 3rd with 1 out, but easily retired the next two hitters to nail down the ballgame. 

The game had added intensity since the Giants are involved in a pennant race — they are 2.5 games behind the slumping San Diego Padres, and 3.5 off the wild card pace, chasing the Phillies.  If I have to be in a strange city where I know no one and have no gigs, at least there is important September baseball to watch.  Oh, and did somebody mention football?

2 Responses to “I’m on bizarro Earth watching Giants games”

  1. bkivey said

    Keith,

    So who’s it gonna be? Oakland Raiders or San Francisco 49’ers?

    Blair

    • I’d be happy if either one of them were respectable enough to make the season halfway interesting. When I was a kid in the 70s I always liked the silver and black. Being left handed I loved to watch Kenny Stabler and I just liked the way that offense operated. I attended my only Super Bowl in 1977 — it was Super Bowl XI, the Raiders vs the Vikings. The Raiders, after a shaky opening 5 minutes dominated the game and that was the last Super Bowl the VIkings have played in.

      That said I’ll be rooting Giants! They were the team my father rooted for and they are the team I have rooted for since 1984. Before moving to the Bay Area my good friend and I perused a 2010 football schedule. Fortunately for me the Giants and Jets are playing quite a few national games this year. So even if the Raiders and 49ers are bad, which they figure to be, at least I will have my beloved New York teams to watch on Sunday or Monday nights.

Leave a Reply

 
