The World According to Keitho

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Not my finest hour in the kitchen

Posted by keithosaunders on September 8, 2010

Lately I’ve been getting into cooking dinners for my family.  For the most part I’ve done a good job.  A little internet searching usually yields a simple enough recipe for my culinary skill-set, and if I’m really ambitious I’ll even make a sauce.

Tonight I improvised a mexican sauce for steak by adding cilantro, garlic, chile sauce, and lime juice into the blender.  I set my phasor on stun and fired it up.  (actually it was the blender and it was set to puree) I added the sauce to the steak, put it in the oven at 450, and went about my business.

15 minutes later I checked on the steak only to see it was still rare.  I went to the freezer to get some ice for my water and wouldn’t you know it, the handle was loose and came ajar.  I tried to set it back in place and ended up gashing my index finger on the loose metal. 

There’s always that split second after the cut where you are hoping against hope that the cut isn’t a deep one.  I held my breath to no avail.  The blood came gushing out like old faithful.  I Was like Dan Aykroyd as Julie Child in that old Saturday Night Live skit.  By the time I finished with the washing and bandaging of my finger the steak was over-cooked.  Like leather.  The pity was that the sauce came out good and received rave reviews from my kids.  I spent the dinner trying to cut my steak with the knife precariously propped against my thumb.  I’m lucky I didn’t do any further damage to my hands. 

On a happier note I would like to wish a happy birthday to the greatest living sax player, Sonny Rollins!   Sonny is one of my all time favorites and I spent a good part of today on Pandora listening to his music.  He is 80 years old today. 

  

3 Responses to “Not my finest hour in the kitchen”

  1. See, Keith. That’s why I make DiGiorno’s frozen pizza for my family! I had forgotten about that great Dan Aykroyd as Julia Child skit. Great stuff. And yes, Sonny Rollins is a true legend. Hope your finger gets better soon. It’s awfully difficult to type well with a bad digit! Bill

  2. Blair Ivey said

    Keith,

    Sorry to hear about hour hand; not a great injury to have for a pianist. If I make make some suggestions based on my years of experience in commercial kitchens?

    Setting the oven to 450F is OK, and is a common roasting technique, but after about fifteen minutes set it to 350F. This allows the meat to cook more evenly and, as you found out, gives you more time to work (or attend to injury).

    Leave the sauce off during the initial roasting period, and then put it on the meat after you’ve lowered the temperature. If you put the sauce on right off the bat it will act as an insulator. I make all my sauces on the stove, so they’re already warm when I put them on the meat.

    And of course, let the meat ‘rest’ for 5 – 10 minutes after cooking.

    Bon Apetit!

    Blair

Leave a Reply

 
