The World According to Keitho

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Hellraiser

Posted by keithosaunders on October 16, 2010

Last night’s pain was exquisite — worth of the Marque de Sade.  Clive Barker could not have drawn a more perfect script.  It was as if I was Frank with the hooks in my bare flesh and the Yankees were the Cenobites awaiting the perfect moment to tear my flesh apart.  It came in the 8th inning and it did not disappoint.

I have to admit that the Rangers fooled me.  I had watched them in the ALDS and was captivated by their hustle, ability to take the extra base, and of course, Cliff Lee.  I knew they would need a great performance by C.J. Wilson in game 1 of the ALCS and until the 8th inning he was superb.

The Rangers jumped out to a 3-0 lead (before there was even one out!) on Josh Hamilton’s home run, but failed to score the fourth run when a C.C. Sabathia wild pitch took a lucky carom allowing Jorge Posada to nab Nelson Cruz at the plate.  The next inning, when Francour made out with first and thrid and one out, I said to myself,  “They’re going to lose.”  It was only a matter of when.  When my wife arrived home from work and suggested going for a late afternoon walk I uncharacteristacally agreed, eschewing the DVR.  I figured that I’d seen the best part of this game and any more excitement would aggravate me. 

We arrived home an 90 minutes later and I checked mlb.com.  The score was 5-1 in the bottom of the 7th and I figured it was safe to turn the TV on.  It came on just as the Rangers made their final out in the 7th inning.  It would remain on for the next 25 minutes, a span which would see five Rangers pitchers and no Yankee outs.  

It couldn’t have been more perfect.  Before the game I had been crowing about the Rangers fire and hustle.  When Brett Gardner hit a medium roller to first and Jorge Cantu made a lackluster play getting rid of the ball it was just too perfect.  Not only were the Yankees going to erase a  five run lead, but they would expose my hack analysis. 

Thank you sir, may I have another?

Nolan Ryan!

4 Responses to “Hellraiser”

  1. I’m certain Nolan wished he could have gotten up in that 8th inning and thrown a few of his famous triple digit fastballs.

  2. Nice paunch, Nolan.

  3. So, Keith, Are you a horror movie fan? I am, too. Bill

  4. I like horror movies, but never went in for the slahser ones such as Friday the 13th and Halloween, although I enjoyed the first couple of Nightmare on Elms. Alien is one of my favorites, as is Hellraiser. Rosemary’s Baby is a classic. oh yeah, The Shining…Kubrick!

Leave a Reply

 
