The World According to Keitho

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Jets v Colts

Posted by keithosaunders on January 8, 2011

It seems like just the other day that these teams met in the 2010 AFC championship game.  I was at my steady Sunday gig on Long Island, arriving early to be able to watch as much as I could at the bar before the gig began.  The Jets were pretty much dominated on that late afternoon in Indy and by the time  the second half rolled around the game was all but over.

This year the Jets started out on fire, but let’s face it, many of their wins have been lucky, and their schedule, which featured the Bears, Browns, Bengals,and Lions has been kind to them.  Yet they beat the Steelers.  Go figure.  When their D is on they are a tough out.

The truth is that their coach, Rex Ryan, is not a likable guy.  He is a blowhard who talks way too much trash, especially for a guy who has yet to win anything.  If it wasn’t for the fact that I am from New York I don’t think I would root for this bunch.  You have to be loyal to your homies so I will drink from the Jets coffee mug, and wear the green sweatshirt.

As fate would have it I am once again gigging on a Jets playoff night.  I will, however, be DVR-ing the second half of the game.  I am fairly confident of not having the score divulged mid-evening before I am able to return to the safety and sanctity of my own T.V.  Here in the Bay Area the playoffs are an afterthought.  The sports radio station is abuzz with the news of Jim Harbaugh agreeing to coach the 49ers.  For some reason, even though he has yet to coach one NFL game, he is viewed as a savior.  Bully for them.  I will be rooting for a team, that at least for the time being, is still alive.  JETS!

3 Responses to “Jets v Colts”

  1. zapple100 said

    I was watching the game lying down on the couch and fell asleep. When I woke up the news was on and they were talking about the game.
    I didn’t think The Jets were gonna win. Even though The Colts didn’t have that great a year, I thought Manning was going to have a big game.

    • I had taped the Jets game but when I got home from my gig I couldn’t find the remote to the TV. Not wanting to wake my wife up I decided to wait until this morning to watch the game. I saw that I had gotten a comment from you on the Jets v Colt post but I was too smart to read it before watching the game!

  2. zapple100 said

    I thought The Packers were going to lose. When I saw the pass go into the end zone at the end of the game I thought it was going to be a touchdown.
    After the Packer guy intercepted the ball, he ran out of the end zone celebrating. It was still a live ball. One hard tackle by an Eagle and the ball could have come loose. The Packers had to tell him to get down on the ground to kill the play.

Leave a Reply

 
