The World According to Keitho

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Show and tell

Posted by keithosaunders on March 22, 2011

Here are some odds and ends while we come up for air from the weekend’s basketball bacchanal.  It was a rainy week in the Bay Area, complete with thunderstorms and golf ball-sized hail.  Coming home from a gig on Friday night the streets appeared as if they were coated with an inch of snow.  It was the remnants of a brief hail storm.  (Aren’t all hail storms brief?  I’ve never heard of an extended one, with the exception of the apocalypse)  A lot of people were outside checking out the ice-coated streets.  I heard that someone was seen skiing down the main drag.   I took this photo from my garage as I was unloading my keyboard.

  There was a Supermoon on Saturday night.   The moon was at its closest point to Earth while it was full, thus the fancy moniker.  We didn’t get to see it since it rained all weekend, but I found this photograph online taken by someone fortunate enough to be in good weather.

Supermoon

 

Finally, here is a photo I took on a break during a gig I played in San Francisco last Wednesday.  I was at a restaurant on the Embarcadero, a main thoroughfare which runs along the edge of the bay.  This was one of the few times during the week that it stopped raining, and it made for a nice photograph.   It looks like there is a rainbow in the photo, but it’s not —  just some nice cloud formations.   

2 Responses to “Show and tell”

  1. bkivey said

    Hi Keith,

    It stopped raining long enough here to see the moon Saturday night: it was so bright you couldn’t actually see the the surface features. Just a brilliant white light in the sky.

    I’m surprised that you got that much hail in the Bay Area; thunderstorms are rare in that part of the world. In the three years I lived in SF there was exactly one thunderstorm. One winter we didn’t see the Sun for five weeks; when it came out people poured out of buildings along Market St. to see it. I didn’t know at the time I’d live in places like Seattle and Portland where I’d be happy to only go five weeks without sun.

Leave a Reply

 
