The World According to Keitho

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Timing

Posted by keithosaunders on June 30, 2011

So much in life is not what you do, but when you are there.  So much of it is timing.  Think of a hitter at the plate.  He’s got a fraction of a second to decide if the pitch is hittable or not.  Once he decides to swing he has another fraction in which to execute, otherwise the timing is off and he’ll miss.

That’s life.  It’s all about decision and timing.  There have been times in my life where I have been extremely lucky — I would say most of it.  I came to New York, and within a month I was touring Europe with a sax player and his quartet.  I gigged at the Vanguard when I had only been in town for three years. 

I met my wife because I happened to be playing a $30 gig from 11PM-3AM on Saturdays.  I worked there for two years.  I’ve been married for 20 years and have three incredible kids. 

I met my best friend because I happened to go to a Mets-Cubs doubleheader by myslef in late July of 1986.  I was sitting in the upper deck and between games we struck up a conversation.

There are times when it looks as if the stars are about to align and your dream seems attainable, only to have the window slam shut.  Sometimes you don’t even realize it closed until it’s too late. 

But there’s always tomorrow, next month, or next year.  The Brooklyn Dodgers can attest to that.  That’s the thing about timing.  The more you swing and miss, the better you can gauge your next swing.

Leave a Reply

 
