The World According to Keitho

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Taking my act live

Posted by keithosaunders on March 13, 2016

After my previous post decrying the decay of western civilization through videos I decided to see for myself what it was like to produce to have a video experience of my own.  In the past week I had received a few notices on my Facebook feed about so and so being ‘live.’ I wondered what it was so finally I clicked one of the feeds and there was one of my ‘friends,’ – more like an acquaintance – live and in full pontificating mode.  He was all over the map but mostly he was bloviating about the coming election.

I found it kind of self centered and self-serving.  Until I tried it myself.  Then I thought it was fun.  I donned a beret and took ‘hater’ act live and beta test a five minute rant.

I started off be-scowled,  pontificating about people posting over-produced political videos with the sound track and fancy graphics.  I was segueing into the Academy Awards when I noticed at the bottom of the screen there was a display of who was viewing my feed.  Soon my friends began commenting and that’s when I lost it, breaking character in a fit of laughter.

I have to admit, as much as I hate to, that being live and having an audience was intoxicating.  It was visceral in a way that a written post is not.  The thing is, it’s too easy and the risk of crossing the line from detached, ironic humor into trite, self aggrandizement is too easy.  You’re trying to be funny in the moment and your friends are there — who knows what offensive bon mot may slip from your mouth in the moment. With the written word there’s a good chance you would take stock of what you are writing and edit out something potentially hurtful.

After 5 minutes I realized I was out of gas and said goodbye to my viewing public.  I’ll try to resist over-saturating myself on Facebook, but the lure of the audience is strong.  Pray for me.

pepe

 

Leave a Reply

 
