The World According to Keitho

Just another WordPress.com weblog

I’ll believe it when I see it

Posted by keithosaunders on March 24, 2016

I’ve posted before about my ambivalence, nay, my antipathy towards these political videos that are currently running rampant in the wake of the Trump storm.   My politics are to the left of most people I know, (although in the Bay Area I’m a centrist) but these videos offend me.

How is it helpful to portray Trump supporters as moronic backwoods yokels?  Sure, they are a strong demographic for him, but I know he must have supporters who are intelligent and can articulate what they like about him and dislike about the Democrats.

In the case of this particular video it seems the filmmaker has gone out of his way to find the least intelligent people possible.  I don’t see how shaming the right is going to sway a voter who is on the fence.  It’s more likely it would have the opposite effect.

I saw another video in which a reporter interviewed college students asking them who won the civil war.  Of course the video showed 5 people in rapid succession answering ‘The South’ or ‘I don’t know’ but who’s to say the interviewer didn’t ask 90 people and edited in the morons?

I’m not buying this video-happy society we live in.  Yes, folks are generally less intelligent than they were 30 years ago — how could they not be with all the de-funding of education.  But they’re not that stupid!

Leave a Reply

 
