The World According to Keitho

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Why don’t super heroes ever smile?

Posted by keithosaunders on September 17, 2016

I was a big comic book fan growing up and I have a retained a love for the Marvel and DC silver age books that I collected. Every once in a while I’ll look at a recent issue of the Avengers or the Justice League of America to see how my favorite heroes have progressed.  The drawings are more realistic and the dialogue is more sophisticated but overall the current books are joyless affairs.

Where is the whimsy that I remember?  The Justice League had a beatnik sidekick named Snapper Carr who had no powers whatsoever.  Sure he was annoying and practically superfluous to the plot, but he was someone that you might actually meet in real life.  Remember Spiderman?  He had girlfriend problems, as well as a nagging, pain in the ass aunt for crying out loud!

The current heroes have all the charm of TSA agents.  Not only would I not want to hang out with them, I would be scared to death!

Image result for silver age justice league of america

the Justice League of America of the Benes!!!!!!!! by dinei

6 Responses to “Why don’t super heroes ever smile?”

  1. verdun2 said

    I used to read DC comics when I was a kid, but Geez I only recognize about 6 or so of the characters in the bottom picture.
    v

  2. I have to admit, I wanted to blast Snapper Carr right into space. But comics took a turn for the dark in the ’80s and have never recovered.

    • Snapper Carr ended up breaking bad, ratting out the JLA secret headquarters to the Joker. Today he’s probably selling meth on some Boise street corner.

      • That Joker story was so strange. The writers suddenly were in a hurry to jettison Snapper. Just have him graduate college and move on.

      • I think that was a kind of turning point – DC saying so long to whimsy in an effort to keep up with the more cutting edge Marvel. I have fond memories of those late 60s early 70s books because that was when I was collecting but that darker vision eventually yielded a joyless book.

      • That’s a good point. And I started collecting at the same time, but today I gravitate more to early ’60s DC stuff because it’s just so goofy and fun. Today’s stuff is just so depressing.

Leave a Reply

 
